To influence transport initiatives to support growth and maximise the region’s potential in the long-term.

Transport Project Group Chair: Dr David Braben, CEO, Frontier Development

David Braben, OBE FR Eng, has been a software engineer for 37 years, beginning when he co-wrote the best-selling computer game “Elite” while still at Cambridge University. He founded Frontier Developments plc in January 1994, a 425 person company based on the Science Park in Cambridge, which floated in 2013 (AIM:FDEV). Frontier is famous for many successful games, most recently “Elite: Dangerous” (2014), “Planet Coaster” (2016), and “Jurassic World Evolution” (2018).

David is one of six founders of the Raspberry Pi Foundation, a charity that sells small educational computers worldwide for as little as £4, and a VP of Special Effect, a charity that supports disabled people playing games. He supports start-ups through his membership of Cambridge Angels. He was awarded a Fellowship of the Royal Academy of Engineering in 2012, a Fellowship of BAFTA in 2015 (one of only 97, since the first was given to Alfred Hitchcock in 1971), honorary doctorates from Abertay University, the Open University, and York University, and an OBE in 2014.

Project Team Members

Peter Blake – Interim City Deal Transport Director, Cambridgeshire County Council
Neil Cuttell – City Deal Executive, Greater Cambridge Greater Peterborough Enterprise Partnership (LEP)
Gerald Ellison – Bursar, The Perse School
Emma Fletcher - Managing Director, Smithson Hill
Charlie Hamilton - Managing Director, Whippet
Michelle Hargreaves - Interim Managing Director, Stagecoach
Professor Peter Landshoff* − Fellow of Christ’s College and Professor Emeritus University of Cambridge
Duncan McCunn − Corporate Director, Barclays*
William Nichols − Senior Associate Director, Cambridge Planning, Strutt & Parker*
Jane Paterson-Todd − CEO, Cambridge Ahead*
Mark Russell – Partner, Carter Jonas
Katharine Smith – Sustainability Manager, Addenbrookes
Sven Topel − Chairman, Brookgate*
Abigail Trencher - Partner, Birketts
Christopher Walkinshaw − Group Corporate Communications Director, Marshall of Cambridge*

* Member/Member organisation

Project Overview

To help improve Quality of Life for residents and workers of Greater Cambridge, transport needs to be cost-effective, reliable and time efficient. Traffic delays and inefficient public transport have an impact both on the health and well-being of workers, and on the finances and productivity of businesses. Transport is the glue which will enable sustainable development across the region. It brings together communities, facilitates movement of goods and services, and is essential to the success of the economy.

Into the Future

We will continue to support the Greater Cambridge Partnership, the Mayor, the Combined Authority and national groups, such as the National Infrastructure Commission, across a number of initiatives to strengthen our public transport network. Specifically for this next period we will be investigating the following themes:

  1. Improving Transport for commuting

This will include reviewing bus franchising options, CAM Metro and cycling provision. We will investigate supplementary research on segregated busways, electric buses, and improvements to air quality as well as assessing existing evidence and case studies from other cities. We also intend to determine a project on the actual cost of traffic delays to businesses and workers. This theme may also support initiatives around short-term fixes such as light sequencing.

  1. Review existing and new transport corridors

With other corridors already covered by separate initiatives, a priority of the Transport Group will be to explore transport corridors eastward towards Newmarket, including rail, and will look at how to support the conglomeration effect along the corridors and transport networks.

  1. Encouraging modal changes – what motivates people to change transport modes?

We intend to research into the psychology of changing people’s mindsets about transport modes and assess the demographic profiles of different communities around Greater Cambridge. We will also specifically address how businesses can encourage their workers to cycle to work as a short-term initiative.

Interesting Research & Publications


01223 653023


Sarah Brereton, Director, Limewash
01223 813 557

Subscribe to our mailing list

Please enter your first name
Please enter your surname
Please enter your email address
; ;